Waterfall is a renovated cannery on the west coast of Prince of Wales Island, approximately 145 miles (234 km) southeast of Sitka and 60 miles (97 km) west of Ketchikan, Alaska. The name was first published by the U.S. Geological Survey in 1915. Historically, the Waterfall Cannery had a wharf and store with some fishermen’s supplies, gasoline, fuel oil, and radio communication during the canning season.
The original salmon cannery was built in 1912 by Oceanic Packing Company. The facility was sold to Alaska Fish Company in 1913 during the industry consolidation. In 1924, Waterfall Cannery was sold to Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Company, owner of the nationwide chain of A&P stores, and was operated by Nakat Packing Company. In 1932, a major expansion added a warehouse, marine railway, oil dock, hydroelectric dam, power lines, cable house, machine shop, storage room, mess hall, bunkhouses, four seiners, and a fish tender. In 1936, Waterfall produced 220,000 cases of silver salmon for the year, setting a record for a single Alaska cannery.
In 1973, the cannery was closed and renovated into the Waterfall Resort, a sport fishing lodge. Waterfall is not connected to the island’s road system and visitors to the resort arrive by floatplane from Ketchikan. Read more here and here. Explore more of Waterfall Cannery here: