Coast Guard Station Tillamook Bay is an active duty U.S. Coast Guard facility located in Garibaldi on Tillamook Bay, 7.5 miles (12 km) northwest of the community of Tillamook, Oregon. The current station has been operating since 1942 and is a nationally recognized historic site.
Daniel Bayley was one of the first settlers on Tillamook Bay where he built a hotel and general store and was officially granted title to the property May 15, 1869 by President Ulysses S. Grant. In 1870, he was appointed by President Grant as the area’s first postmaster, and named the new postmark after Giuseppe Garibaldi, a general who contributed to the Italian unification and the creation of the Kingdom of Italy in 1861.
Coast Guard Station Tillamook Bay has been an active duty installation since 1908. The boathouse at Garibaldi was built in 1936. Set at the end of a wooden pier 760 feet (232 m) long with a marine railway, it could accommodate two motor lifeboats of 36 feet (11 m) and one oar-powered surfboat of 26 feet (8 m). The marine railway allowed the boats to be rapidly launched fully-manned into the water. The two-story boathouse structure was decommissioned in the 1960s. Read more here and here. Explore more of Garibaldi here: