Millers Landing is on the north shore of Kachemak Bay, on the Kenai Peninsula, about 4 miles (6.5 km) northwest of Homer, Alaska. The local name was first reported and published by the U.S. Geological Survey in the 1950’s. Millers Landing is named after Charles Miller who homesteaded the area around 1915. He built a landing site in a small bight in Kachemak Bay where supply barges from Seldovia could land and offload their cargo.
Charles Miller was born on July 1, 1881, in Mannheim, Germany. He immigrated to the United States in 1903 and arrived in Homer in 1915 as an employee of the Alaska Railroad. He spent that winter pasturing 95 horses owned by the railroad on or near the abundant native grasses growing on the Homer Spit. It is likely that the livestock were barged to the area and then removed the same way the following spring. At that time, Seldovia was the only deep water port for Cook Inlet and ocean going vessels would stop there to transfer cargo to smaller vessels for transit to other Cook Inlet communities. Miller built a road from a beach landing that provided access to thousands of acres of grasslands in the vicinity of what is now Millers Landing. He was also known for making moonshine from homegrown potatoes that was double-distilled to intensify the alcohol content. Miller was also fox farmer from 1925 to 1930. He died in 1970 and is buried in the Homer Community Cemetery.
Millers Landing was annexed to Homer in 2002 and is now the location of boatyard and a vessel haul out facility with a dock built over tidelands leased from the City of Homer. The dock supports a travel lift capable of lifting vessel up to 70 feet (21 m) in length and a draft of 8.5 feet (2.5 m). Read more here and here. Explore more of Millers Landing here: